Notes From Motherhood: Sleep Secrets

OK moms spill it. We all have our special sleep secrets. Tell me, how do you help your little one waltz into dreamland? There are hundreds of books on the topic but after two children I trust the advice of other moms (and dads!) more than anything.

photo from groupweston.com

Here are my secrets:

The Miracle Blanket. This is the Rolls Royce of swaddling blankets. If you have a strong baby who needs to be tightly swaddled to prevent her from waking up repeatedly through the night, this swaddler is worth its weight in gold. I sent my husband out to get two after many frustrating attempts at swaddling my future boxer (she’d punch her way out of ordinary blankets!).

A Good Night Light: For those midnight, 2 AM, and 4 AM newborn diaper changes and feedings you’re going to want just enough light to avoid trying to feed your baby’s ear but not enough to completely wake up your baby. Those “tap on” lights that attach to walls are fabulous. You’ll want something that is dim and can be easily pushed on and off. An overhead dimmer with a remote also works well. Keep all of your supplies close at hand so that you can avoid getting up too much.

My BornFree Binkies. I know they’re called Pacifiers. Even if I didn’t work for my favorite BPA-free company my baby’s co-sleeper would still be lined with at least three of these soothers before we called it a night. If you’re wondering why we start with three it’s because we tend to lose them in the sheets during the wee hours of the morning. It’s just easier this way. In the morning I round them all up and begin again. When my infant finishes nursing I pop her binky in and she sucks away into a deep sleep. Bliss for mommy.

Those are mine. Tell me yours!

4 Responses to “Notes From Motherhood: Sleep Secrets”


  1. 1 kristen January 14, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    Well this is our routine! We have a bath with Johnsons bedtime bath and then I give her a baby message with Johnsons bedtime lotion, and then I swadle her and give her her pacifier and turn on her music box and she sleeps all night as she has since she was two months old!!!!!

  2. 2 Monica January 14, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    I’m looking for recommendations on this as well. Our problem My 8-month-old son’s refusal to fall asleep. He won’t use a pacifier, so that doesn’t help us. 😦

    I’ve tried to set up a 4-B routine (bath, bottle/breast, book, bed), and he’ll play along right up until the last step. Bed? NO WAY! He insists on playing or (if I try to leave him in his crib) he’ll stand and sob hysterically. I’ve left him to try and “cry it out” but his sobs just get progressively more desperate.

    This kid fights sleep like George Foreman… I’m concerned, because I know he needs more sleep, but haven’t found anything that works with him.

    Anyone else have a suggestion for a mom who is at her wit’s end?

  3. 3 BornFreeMom February 26, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    I’m so sorry about your sleep woes, Monica! My oldest daughter was like that, especially when she wasn’t feeling well. The first thing I’d do is take him to the pediatrician and make sure he doesn’t have an ear infection and isn’t coming down with anything. What ended up helping was buying her a “lovie”- a soft transitional object that she carries with her all the time. It’s a very small piece of cloth (make sure you have a few just in case you lose one!).

    Does he nap during the day much? Perhaps he isn’t tired enough and needs more wild play. Please let me know how you’re doing.

  4. 4 BornFreeMom February 26, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    I love it, Kristen!


Leave a Reply

