Notes From Motherhood: Mom of Two

With my first baby I was all about schedules. I scheduled her naps, knew exactly how many hours she spent sleeping & playing, and planned my day around her every possible need. I kept an insanely detailed chart wherein I recorded how much she ate and for how long. My second baby is receiving no such treatment.

I don’t know exactly how many hours she spends sleeping but I know when she’s getting enough based on how rested or tired (puffy and red) her eyes look. If you ask me how much she eats, all I can tell you is, “enough.”

Data isn’t a part of the parenting equation this time around. I’ve traded graphs and spreadsheets with the number of wet diapers during the day for using my instincts and guesstimations and I’m okay with that. I love how relaxed everything is this time around. Our lives are more full but also filled with a sense of calm. I trust myself.

All that said, I’m not sure how moms with more than two kids do it. Right now we have an adult for each child. What do you do when you’re outnumbered? How does anarchy not break out? Share you secrets!

2 Responses to “Notes From Motherhood: Mom of Two”


  1. 1 Ashley Pettit December 19, 2009 at 1:17 am

    I just have a 7 week old, and I am not as organized as you were! I think I will wait a couple years for baby #2.

  2. 2 BornFreeMom December 24, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    I wasn’t organized, I was paranoid! 🙂 Congrats on your new baby!


Leave a Reply

