Notes From Motherhood: Snacks

I love snacks. I love them more than real meals. My favorites are popcorn, raisins, nuts, fruit…and chocolate cake. My husband says chocolate isn’t a snack but that can’t be right because then why would I call it “snacking chocolate”?

My 3 year-old loves snacks as well. She won’t eat many vegetables but she will eat baby carrots because they’re so adorable and snack-able. When she was younger she used to embarrass me by hitting up other moms at the park for their goodies. All a mom had to do was open a zip-lock bag or box of crackers and my little hooligan would go running towards her! They probably thought I was starving my child. We always had our own things to eat but the novelty of another child’s food was irresistible.

Lately I’ve been trying to get her to eat healthier foods. Apparently all of her classmates are munching on cucumber and baby arugula at lunchtime. I know I can sneak veggies into her favorites such as steamed, pureed cauliflower into her oatmeal and eggplant into her smoothies, but I’d love for her to one day eat vegetables knowingly.

I have a plan. She loves to have her park and playdate snacks packed into her BornFree Formula Dispenser. Creative, right? It has three compartments so that different items don’t mix (it’s a sin for foods to touch in Toddler World).

Perhaps instead of packing her usual munchies like sunflower seeds and popcorn:

Pretty healthy but we we need veggies!

I’ll start bringing this to the park:

Peas, corn, and snacking chocolate.

Totally kidding! I won’t take peas and carrots to the park because I’d never remember to bring a spoon.

Maybe putting the vegetables in a container she loves will encourage her to eat veggies at dinner. I’ll remove the chocolate and give it to her when she’s done of course.

Let me know what you think. I’ll choose one commenter to win a BornFree Formula Dispenser!

28 Responses to “Notes From Motherhood: Snacks”


  1. 1 Casey December 10, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    I think that’s a great idea. Whatever it takes to get the kiddos to eat their veggies. 🙂

  2. 2 BornFree December 10, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    Thanks Casey! I’m determined that 2010 will be the year of the Spinach..and Broccoli…and Peas! Do your kids eat vegetables without a fight?

  3. 3 Kristy December 10, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    Wonderful idea! Maybe the different presentation of the veggies will be appealing to her! Now, if you can come up with an idea of how to get my daughter to not want to eat the entire box of Banana Puffs at one time, we’d be in business!

  4. 4 BornFree December 10, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    Thanks Kristy! I hope this works. I’m going to work on making sure her veggies are really tasty.

    I can’t even help MYSELF from eating a whole box of Banana Puffs (or any kind of puffs). 🙂

  5. 5 Anna December 10, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    I think it is a great idea. You could use it for fruit too. My son refused all vegies other than peas until he was about 2 years 3 months and then suddenly devoured them all. I told him his favorite tv characters loved different vegies. And I decided to steam rather cook them in the microwave, so maybe that helped. Or perhaps he just reached an age where he thought it was cool to eat little trees.

  6. 6 BornFree December 10, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    Little trees! I need to bring that back. I’ll try steaming them also. Thanks!

  7. 7 April December 11, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    Great idea! I look forward to hearing the results. My son is only 4 months old right now, so this is not a problem for me YET! I soak in all the info possiable from other mothers and take notes! It seems as though Veggies are the hardest things to get kids to eat.

  8. 8 Elizabeth Keller December 11, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    Sorry! A little slow in the head during the holiday season. Here’s my comment from FB:

    Ha! That’s great. We’re snackers too, but our 1-year-old wins the prize at our house for “most frequent snacker”. It’s the only thing that keeps him quiet in church too, teehee!

  9. 9 BornFree December 11, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Hee hee, no problem Elizabeth! You’ve been entered!

  10. 10 BornFree December 11, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    I’ll let you know how it goes, April! Ah, the little babies are so easy to feed. I’ll get those veggies in one way or another!

  11. 11 Simone December 11, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    Well I definitely think it is a woman’s right to snack, especially when watching a soap or film and if it involves chocolate then that’s even better!

    My 11 month old loves her biscotti biscuits at the moment and even though they are baby biscuits I feel that she will pick up my bad habits!
    At the moment though she is very fond of frozen carrot sticks as they help with her teething so she munches her way through those.

    I think it’s a fab idea – children want to feel safe and reassured and if they see food (veggies) in a colourful and bright container then they are more likely to give it a try and when they realise how delicious veggies actually are I am sure they will ask for a stick of brocolli instead a stick of chocolate!!

  12. 12 BornFree December 11, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    My daughter loves pretty containers and pink is the only color she will tolerate so I’m hopeful. I love biscotti, too! During a romantic comedy it’s best dipped in hot chocolate (there I am again with the chocolate!). The frozen carrot stick idea is fantastic. Dr. Greene would be so proud. I’m going to try that. Thank you!

  13. 13 Kristy Pendergast December 11, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    I love idea of using the formula dispenser for snacks, it would even be great for those who don’t have kids to carry their own snacks. Portion control built right in and keeps all those ziploc baggies out of the landfill too

  14. 14 BornFree December 11, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Great points, Kristy! It’s a great eco-friendly alternative to little baggies- and the snack won’t get crushed either. Portion control is a huge plus with the hole at the top. My little one just taps out the number of cheerios or nuts that she wants and pops them in her mouth!

  15. 15 Dena Brown December 11, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    We love to snack! Keeps us from eating a huge plate full at dinner!

  16. 16 BornFree December 11, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    That’s true!

  17. 17 Stephanie December 11, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    Great universal item! I really like the purple color too.

  18. 18 BornFree December 11, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    I’m glad you like it 😉

  19. 19 BornFree December 11, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    It’s actually pink but shows up as slightly purple.

  20. 20 Casey December 13, 2009 at 2:49 am

    Well, I only have a 3 week old son. haha. But I do have a 4 year old “step-daughter” who puts up a fight when it comes to eating just about anything! haha. She likes ketchup, and that’s about it. 🙂

  21. 21 myha December 14, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    My toddler and I love snacking and love BornFree! Would love to try these!

  22. 22 BornFree December 14, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    Thanks for the comment!

  23. 23 Ashley Pettit December 14, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    So inspiring!

  24. 24 BornFree December 14, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    I’m glad you liked it, Ashley.

  25. 25 Ashley Pettit December 19, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Who won?

  26. 26 BornFreeMom December 24, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    Stephanie, you are the winner! Thanks for waiting everyone!!!

  27. 27 BornFreeMom December 24, 2009 at 4:20 pm

    Please email bunmi@newbornfree.com with your information.

  28. 28 BornFreeMom December 24, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    Thank you!


Leave a Reply

