Notes From Motherhood: My Dirty Laundry

If you were a celebrity mom, what perk would you most enjoy? For me, I think it would have having a 24-hour maid. I don’t think all celebrity moms have 24-hour maids, but I would. She’d definitely be the kind of maid that does laundry.

I have a love/hate relationship with laundry. A friend of mine once suggested that I do a load a day to keep it from piling up and taking over my home. I didn’t follow her advice because of some weird guilt I feel over using that much water and power everyday but when I end up doing five loads of laundry in the middle of the night I know it all ads up to be the same.

Speaking of wasting water, I’ve heard that some moms have to run the washer twice for the same load when they accidentally leave wet clothes in the washer for too long and they start to smell funny…I’ve heard there are moms like this…but I don’t know any. Ahem.

Occasionally I’ll be really on top of it and manage to get a few loads washed and dried early in the week. I may even get them folded. Where my maid would be handy in these cases, is in the putting away. Oftentimes I leave my clean laundry on the couch and coffee table where I’ve folded them. It only takes my 3 year-old three seconds (one for every birthday she’s had) to destroy my carefully folded symbols of domesticity. She always looks at me with her big brown eyes as if causing a 15 stack-high pile of t-shirts to tumble was an accident, but I doubt it.

One of my goals in 2010 is to get my home running smoother. A place for everything and everything in its place. No more lost socks or missing pacifiers. BornFree™ was on the Martha Show earlier this year. Maybe she’d be willing to come over and help me out…

Stay tuned!

1 Response to “Notes From Motherhood: My Dirty Laundry”


  1. 1 BornFreeMom December 24, 2009 at 4:29 pm

    Tell me in the comments…how do you keep on top of your laundry?


Leave a Reply

