I Love My Mom Group Contest!

Announcing the BornFree™ “I Love My Mom Group” contest! Starting today you and the members of your mom group have the opportunity to win a Mom Group Prize Pack full of our BPA-free Teethers, Pacifiers, & Gum Brushes. All you have to do is email bunmi@newbornfree.com and tell us, “Why do you love your mom group?”

momgroupimage

Has your community of moms changed your life?

Have you gained a new perspective on parenting?

Have you made life-long friends?

One mom group will be picked. The deadline for entering is August 5th. Please send your name, city, name of mom group, a photo of either yourself or your group, and 1-3 paragraphs about what makes your group special.

5 Responses to “I Love My Mom Group Contest!”


  1. 1 Ashley July 22, 2009 at 12:19 am

    My mommy group has absolutely saved my life. I am new to being a stay at home mother and not only that but I am fairly new to the area I live in which means I do not have many friends, especially mommy friends. I worked from when my son was 6 months old to 11 months old so I never worried about what to do with my time during the day. For the first 2 months that I lived in LA an had not been working I felt like a total loser and felt like I just wasn’t doing enough for myself and especially for my son. I would stay home all day, hardly take him outside and when/if I did it was to run errands and he would practically be either in a stroller or car seat for a majority of the time which I am sure was not fun for him considering he is a walker now. I started to feel really guilty because I didnt feel like I was giving my son an enriched environment. I didnt know what to teach him, how to keep him fully occupied, make sure he was learning and exploring correctly. I decided to find a mom’s group in my area through meetup.com. It was scary going to my first meeting because I didnt know what to expect. I am a young mother (age 25) and I wanted to meet other mothers around my age. I was afraid of what type of people were in the group and how they would judge me. I was wondering if/how we would fit in. I made it through my first meetup and from there it was a piece of cake. Although I am one of the youngest I feel a real deep connection with some of the mothers now and I am friends with some people that I probably would have never been friends with it weren’t for my group. I learned that we were all in the same boat. We were all scared for our first time. But then after having some conversations about motherhood, your children, tips, tricks, just learning that everything you are experiencing with your child and yourself is “normal” and feeling a connection and bond with someone else, you start to develop friendships. I feel good finally having things to do that not only allow me to socialize with other adults but allows my son to socialize and meet other children that may be his friends for life. I also love that I get to explore the city in which I live all while having fun. I feel like I now have friends and if I need help in any way or just want someone to talk to I now have someone I can call. I love that my group is so active and we have so much to do because not only do I like having options but i feel that it gives us a chance to be closer and actually make those lasting friendships becuase we see eachother more often.Being young, I had a struggle with my social life. I had a lot of friends that did not have kids that were able to just go out every weekend, party and drink and sometimes I just felt really left out. I would often use my mother to watch y son so I could keep up with my friends which after a while left me feeling really guilty. It was hard for me to feel comfortable just having fun with my child. Because of my group and I now have ALL mommy friends, it has taught me how to be able to have fun WITH my son. I dont have the temptation anymore and I dont have to feel guilty anymore. I have changed the path of my life with my son. Of course with Mom’s night out events it still fufills that time for myself that I need as well. I have also learned a lot about parenting. I think that most moms are afraid to admit certain things because they feel that maybe they are the only ones going through a particular things with their child but once you get that conversation going you realize how alike most moms are so it allows you to be less judgmental and it truely changes your view of motherhood. My group in particular is great because EVERYONE is friendly and welcoming and I feel although I have only been a member for 2 months it feels like forever. I now love to meet the “new mom” because I want to assure her that we are here for her and she has no reason to feel shy or scared. 4 months into my stay at home mother lifestyle my life has changed significantly and I owe it to my group.

  2. 2 Amelia Wilkinson July 22, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    Yippy! We have the best mommy group ever! Not only have I found amazing friends but so has my son!!! The staying active mommy club is super and really saved my life!!!! -Amelia

  3. 3 bornfreebottles August 6, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Thanks Amelia for great comment!

  4. 4 bornfreebottles August 6, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Great entry, Ashley! I’m glad your mom group has made such a difference.

  5. 5 BornFreeMom December 24, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Your group is so lucky to have you. Beautiful!


Leave a Reply

